The Professional Organization of Registered Nurses in Iowa

 The Mission of the Iowa Nurses Association is to connect, advocate,

and support for nurses and healthcare in Iowa.

Don’t wait! Update your MyANA profile today!

Thank you for being a member of Iowa Nurses Association and the American Nurses Association! We value you and want to continue creating opportunities that meet your needs. In order to do so, we need to understand your nursing role, interests, and experience.

Please update your member profile today! Log into your MyANA profile and select ‘Update Professional Info’ to complete each section.


As a thank you for your time, we have a gift for you: Stepping into Your Spotlight: Building Your Professional Brand. This webinar shows you how to advance your nursing career by creating, developing, and promoting your professional brand.


We hope you will take advantage of this opportunity so we can continue to deliver relevant and tailored experiences. 

Campaign for Sustainable Rx Pricing

The National Coalition on Health Care (NCHC) is working to seek market-driven solutions to address the high cost of prescription medicines and also is encouraging Iowans to talk about the issue through attendance at presidential candidate events and letter writing. Coalition members include the American Academy of Nursing, American College of Nurse Midwives, AARP and others. Learn more at

Prescription drugs bring much individual value and benefit to each of us: restoring health, keeping individuals out of hospitals and nursing homes, managing chronic diseases and even curing acute illnesses.  However, the costs of many of the newest, high-cost therapies are rising at an alarming rate, pushing overall health care spending; pushing so much that the price growth for all prescription drugs has increased 4.8 percent which pushes up annual individual health insurance premiums.  The rapid growth of prescription drugs is pushing the hardest on increases in health insurance premiums. Ask the presidential candidates what they will do to address the high drug costs for chronic conditions (HIV, hepatitis, mental illness, cancer) and insure they are affordable for those who need prescription drugs but can’t afford the out-of-pocket costs and high insurance premium costs.

National Nursing Issues

Nursing Issues at the national level have been identified by the American Nurses Association (ANA) at this website posting:

The Iowa Nurses Association (INA) is particularly interested in Workforce Issues. A state legislative priority is to: Support efforts to expand nursing workforce development, increase the proportion of nurses with higher education and address nursing faculty shortages.  

Partnership for Chronic Disease

Improved management and prevention of chronic disease will be crucial for the next administration. INA is a member of a coalition of organizations committed to raising the awareness of the number one cause of death, disability and rising health care costs: chronic disease.  Chronic diseases such as diabetes, cancer, asthma, hypertension, heart disease and mental illness are the number one driver of health care costs in the United States. Treating patients with chronic disease now costs 86 percent of the $2.9 trillion annually spent on health care in the US. Learn more at


The Partnership (PFCD) is a key resource for candidates as they begin developing and adapting their own health care proposals throughout the upcoming elections.  Coalition members hope to elevate the issues of prevention, wellness and management of chronic disease by articulating how they will address the issue in their health care proposals.

Faces of INA

INA Board of Directors

Jann Ricklefs, President

Sue Whitty, Vice-President

Brian Cooley, Secretary

Anne Cook, Treasurer

Carol Chesterman, Director-Public Policy

Ginny Wangerin, Director-Resolutions

Vacant, Director - Staff Nurse at Large

Andrea Wilhite, Director-Newly Licensed RN

Linda Opheim, Director Northwest

Nan Ambrosy, Director Northeast

Brian Cooley, Director Southwest

Barb Gano, Director Central

Becky Lewis, Director Southeast

INA Committee/Commission Chairs

Membership/PR: Andrea Wilhite

Finance: Anne Cook

Public Policy: Carol Chesterman


Committees of the Membership

Bylaws: Sue Whitty

Nominations: Julie Schilling

Resolutions: Ginny Wangerin


Regional Chairs

Mary Kovarna, Regional Chair, Region 01

Margie O’Neill, Regional Chair, Region 02

Vacant, Regional Chair, Region 03

Pam Deichmann, Regional Chair, Region 04

Darcy Koehn, Regional Chair, Region 05


Iowa Nurses Foundation

Lorinda Inman, Chair


Click the INF logo above to find out more or Donate Now to honor a nurse today!


Member Benefits