Log in

2023 INA Award Nominations Opening Soon!


Faces of Our Future Nurses Award
It is presented to one INA nurse from each region who has been licensed as a Registered Nurse for five years or less. The nominee will have become known in that time of practice (since graduation) for innovative practice, service in the community, or a specific program that will serve the public in the area where they practice.

The 2022 recipient is Jesse Weiss, MSN, RN, who works at Mercy Hospital Iowa City in region 5. According to Dr. Sung Kim, MD, who is a cardiothoracic anesthesiologist, Jesse is the best nurse he has ever worked with. He said, “Jesse has demonstrated skills beyond his years, he has provided thorough patient care, he has asked excellent questions to further his learning and he has demonstrated superior critical thinking. He has also shown his commitment to his community by volunteering to administer vaccines to immigrant children. Jesse is also very dedicated to his academic and research pursuits, as he is currently maintaining a 4.21 GPA in his PhD program. Some of his research topics include pre-eclampsia, stress among PICU parents, and electronic consents. Jesse makes time to provide service by sitting on the board of Sigma Theta Tau’s Gamma chapter, as well as by being a grant reviewer for the University of Iowa’s Graduate and Professional Student Government. Dr. Kim gives Jesse his highest possible recommendation for the Faces of Nursing Award without any reservations.”

A Thank You from Jesse:

"First and foremost, I’d like to thank the Iowa Nurses Association for selecting me to receive this award. I am honored to have been chosen and grateful for all the mentorship and support I have had throughout my nursing education and career. I’d also like to thank Dr. Sung Kim for nominating me for this award and for his support and appreciation of nurses. These first years as a nurse are something I will never forget. I finished my undergraduate education just as the pandemic began, and I began my nursing career in some of the most challenging circumstances. But, what I have learned is just how important nursing is to the health of our country and the health of our world. I am proud to be a nurse and to be in a position to improve the health of Iowans through practice, research, and community service. This award will only further motivate me to do all that I can to make an impact in my role as a nurse. So, thank you again to the INA and to all my fellow nurses who continue to make a difference in the lives of their patients."

Inspiring Our Future Nurses Award
This award is presented to an INA member who is a nursing instructor and has been a positive influence on the future nurses of Iowa in the areas of innovative teaching practices, instructional materials developed, new courses developed, major course improvement projects, grants or awards relating to teaching, and assessments of teaching by both students and peers.

The 2022 recipient is Malinda Poduska, RN, MSN, who works at Mount Mercy University in region 5. Mary Tarbox, Emeritus Dean of the Martin-Herold College of Nursing at Mount Mercy University, said she was privileged to nominate Malinda for the award. She said, “Malina has been a faculty member at Mount Mercy University for nearly 30 years and is a dedicated teacher who has always been an advocate for students throughout her tenure. Students have often indicated they appreciate the effort Malinda takes in preparing for and conducting class. The students recognize her collaboration and expertise, as she has been an active participant in their activities, and she does not hesitate to assist with projects and events. Malinda has the most influence on future nurses through her teaching responsibilities, but she is a role model for students, exemplifying the professional demeanor of nurses, the thoughtful assistance to others and the on-going development of a dedicated nurse and teacher.”

A Thank You from Malinda:

"I am very honored and humbled to receive this award from the Iowa Nurses Association (INA). I would like to thank my fellow INA members and Dr. Mary Tarbox for nominating me for this award. I would like to thank my mentors and role models at Mt. Mercy, Sister James Marie Donahue, PhD, RN,  Mary Tarbox, EdD, RN Carol Heim, MA, RN and Cathy Penn, MA, RN. I would also like to thank my first acute care preceptor, Carmen Kinrade Kleinsmith, MSN, RN for instilling in me a passion for clinical excellence and professionalism in the work place. Nursing was a second career for me after leaving farming during the farm crisis. I turned my passion for livestock farming into a career of compassionate care to those in need. The award will motivate me more to care for those in need and carry out the works of the Sisters of Mercy. Thank you to INA and to all my fellow nurses who continue to impact the care of our nation through evidence based practice, clinical excellence and community service."

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software