Log in

INA Nurse Recognition Awards Nomination Procedures

Nominations may be made by an individual, group, or an organization.

Each nomination must include the following:

    • Completed electronic nomination form.
    • A narrative statement by the nominator outlining the accomplishments of the nominee and how these meet the established criteria for the award. The statements should describe the nominee’s compliance with the established criteria for the award as explicitly and concisely as possible.
    • At least one letter, but no more than three letters, supporting the nomination.
    • All nominations become the property of the INA.
    • INA reserves the right to request further information related to a nomination.

Award nominations will be accepted throughout the year. Nominations received on or before July 15 will be considered for 2024. Nominations received after July 15 will be considered for 2025.

PLEASE NOTE: Incomplete nominations will NOT be considered. Awardees will be notified of the Nominations Committee's decision in September.

INA Nurse Recognition Awards Nomination Form

Award Categories

Hall of Fame Award

This award will be given annually to an individual(s) who has displayed visionary leadership, dedication to the mission of the INA, and a passion for the profession of nursing on an ongoing basis.


  • Registered nurse (may be retired), who has demonstrated outstanding contributions as a member of the Iowa Nurses Association at the regional, state, and/or national level.
  • Act as a role model of leadership that supports the Iowa Nurses Association’s mission statement: To connect, advocate, and support for nurses and healthcare in Iowa.
  • Demonstrate behavior that reflects nursing’s concern for issues that affect Iowa nurses.
  • Demonstrate professional achievement that has enduring significance in the individual’s lifetime and beyond.

Excellence in Nursing Leadership

This award is conferred on a Registered Nurse(s) who has developed an innovative and unique approach to nursing theory and knowledge in any practice setting. They will be recognized as a role model of consistent high-quality nursing practices. The nurse will have created an environment of professional autonomy and control over their nursing practice. The nomination can come from a peer, patient, or supervisor. Your letter(s) supporting this nominee should include a description of the attributes and examples of quality and professionalism, or a description of a specific event in which the nurse was exceptional.

Leadership in Advanced Practice Nursing (APRN)

This award is bestowed on an Advanced Practice Nurse(s) who has provided a positive impact to patients or peers in the work setting, or for the provision of autonomous practices. This nurse will have served as a role model for other APRNs. Your letter(s) supporting the nominee should describe the attributes of the Advanced Practice Nurse.

Faces of Our Future Nurses

This award is given to an individual(s) who has been licensed as a Registered Nurse for five years or less. The nominee will have become known in that time of practice (since graduation) for innovative practice, service in the community, or a specific program that will serve the public in the area where they practice. At least one nominee will be suggested by the leaders of the INA Region and other nominees can be solicited from peers, nursing supervisors, or patients of the nominee. Your letter(s) supporting this nominee should describe the attributes of the new nurse.

Excellence in Nursing Education

This award is given to an INA member who is a nursing instructor and who has been a positive influence on the future nurses of Iowa. Letter(s) of nomination should include information about innovative teaching practices, instructional materials developed, new courses developed, major course improvement projects, grants or awards relating to teaching, and assessments of teaching by both students and peers. Instructional activities outside the classroom will also be considered. Such activities may include but are not limited to advisory activities, instructional activities in the community, and/or presentations related to teaching made at professional meetings.

Collaborative Practice Award

This award will be presented to any health care organization(s) for a collaborative project which shows an interdisciplinary approach to best practices that resulted in improved patient outcomes or cost savings. Letter(s) supporting this nomination should include the names of the project champions, and examples of how the project improved patient incomes or resulted in cost savings. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software